December 2022 Renewal Café

A few months ago, we extended an invitation to PCC ministers and pastors.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out . . .?” The Lord says:

“Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew 11:28-30, The Message)

A total of 45 pastors took part in a PCC Pastor Retreat Nov. 7-9. For many, it was the first in-person gathering (beyond session and presbytery) since the pandemic shut us down 31 months ago. That’s a long time. We were blessed to be able to spend the better part of three days together in a quiet setting.

Everyone brought somewhat different needs. We all experienced the retreat in a unique way. (We’ll be sharing some of their thoughts and feelings in the next issue of Renewal News in mid-December.)

For me, it was a time to be reminded what a truly emotionally healthy life looks like. It’s okay to be in touch with our emotions – our true emotions, not the ones we want others to see. We are driven to succeed, but we don’t have to be perfect. Where do we go for fulfillment – is it the Lord (who is sufficient) or do we fall into the lures of worldly assurances? Do we create walls around our true selves as a protective measure from the many forces which want to take us down? Or do we train ourselves to seek shelter in the shadow of His wings?

“When you’re in the shadow of the Most High,” our spiritual director told us at the retreat, “the enemy can’t see us.”

Amen.

What about others in the PCC who aren’t called or employed on the front lines of ministry? And what about those who weren’t able to make it to the retreat? You’re out there, I know.

If you’re feeling the need to connect or reconnect, to share whatever’s on your mind as we engage in frontline ministry – whether as a pastor or a layperson – you are invited to the next Renewal Café, a Zoom community which meets occasionally to share our frustrations and joys, our good news and our challenges – all in a safe space. It’s not in person, but it’s something.

The next Café takes place Thursday, Dec. 8: 2:30 p.m. Newfoundland; 2:00 p.m. Atlantic; 1:00 p.m. Eastern; 12:00 noon Central; 11:00 a.m. Mountain; 10:00 a.m. Pacific.

Seating is limited, so register early. Depending on the response, we may offer an additional time.

RSVP at <renewalfellowshippcc@gmail.com> and we’ll send you the link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *